Skip to main content

Officers and Committee


Officers (at June 2024)

Please review our Officers below:  Should you wish to contact any of the Officers or Committee please email  Lydia 


Prof Sarah E Coupland
University of Liverpool

General Secretary

Prof Mark J Arends
University of Edinburgh


Prof Graeme I Murray
University of Aberdeen

Meetings Secretary

Prof Mohammad Ilyas
University of Nottingham



Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Pathology 

Prof Louise Jones


Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Pathology and Editor, Journal of Pathology: Clinical Research

Prof Simon Herrington

Senior Scientific Editor, Journal of Pathology and Journal of Pathology, Clinical Research

Dr Richard Poulsom


Deputy Editor, Journal of Pathology: Clinical Research

Dr Regina Lo


Editor, Diagnostic Histopathology

Dr Adrian Bateman

Committee Members 

Dr Alex Haragan


Dr David Moore


Dr Cynthia Heffron

Irish Representative (Co-opted)

Assoc Prof Susanne Burdak-Rothkamm


Dr Detlef Finkler 

Trade Representative (Co-opted)

Dr Kate Marks, Undergraduate Lead (co-opted)


Dr Tim Kendall


Vacant position 

Webmaster & Digital Adviser 

Dr Helen Kalirai


Dr Dan Field, Chair of the Trainees Subcommittee 



Dr Richard Byers, Winter School Lead 


Dr Abhik Mukherjee, Chair Education Sub-committee


Dr Gemma Petts, Deputy Meetings Secretary (Co-opted)


Dr Matthew Pugh


Dr Susan Richman, Deputy Meetings Secretary (Co-opted)


Dr Marnix Jansen, Chair, Research Sub-committee


Dr Marc Ooft

Dutch Pathological
Society representative (Co-opted)

Dr Jane Ganeshalingam, Chair of the Undergraduate Subcommittee



Dr Emma Short


Dr Elizabeth Soilleux 


Ms Vivienne Parry OBE (Co-opted October 2020)

Lay Representative

Vivienne is a science writer and broadcaster. She has a part time role as Director of Engagement at Genomics England and serves on the board of UKRI. She also facilitates events across the globe including for the G20, the World Economic Forum and the European Commission.  In the past, she has presented Tomorrow’s World, been a columnist for the Times, Guardian and News of the World and worked with the Princess of Wales for 12 years.



Access the Trainee Subcommittee


Priorem Praeses - a Role for Previous Society Presidents

The Society has created a new role (the Priorem Praeses role) within the Pathological Society for previous Presidents of the Society. It recognises that previous Presidents have the potential to make significant ongoing contributions to the Society, making use of accumulated wisdom, experience, contacts and expertise and that this is recognised as a formal role within the Society. Full details are available here